Jarvie Window (my) Experience

Last Summer I did an internship with Scott Jarvie. Later I will write some more posts about the many lessons I learned from him about wedding photography and photography in general. He is passionate for his work as well as for teaching.

I am writing today about one of the things I learned with him: ” The Jarvie window”  experience.

I Decided to continue to do the ” Jarvie window” because it really is quite simple and very fun to do. I do it at parties, event groups and wedding receptions.

In the words of Scott Jarvie himself:

” Yes you will see me doing this again… often

Yes it’s very gimmicky and doesn’t replace being able to take good pictures otherwise.
But you better believe that I’m going to be doing this a lot.

A whole series of faces in square format, doing crazy stuff.
Up in the face… no personal space allowed.

I can totally see this as the hit of a party or wedding reception.
There’s something me and Bryan Jones just couldn’t put a finger on… something about it that makes it so endearing.
It has to do with shooting through the circle.
Yes the lighting is cool.
Yes it’s often more of a caricature Than a picture”


What equipment do I use to make these?

With my full frame camera 5D I use a 12mm Lensbaby with fish eye that I bought at Pictureline

If you have a cropped sensor camera you will might like better the 8mm lens.

Almost any flash that you can set on manual will do it. Try some settings till you find the one that works better for you. I also use a flash ring  Flash adapter that you can find on ebay for less than $50 bucks

The aperture I have tried so far are f/22 and f/16 I like these apertures cause it naturally makes everything else in the background darken.

If you can afford a AF lens is great but a manual will do as well. The focus on the lens baby is Manual, so I have to be very careful after I set the focus to always shoot from the same distance to the face.

It’s not a problem at all since this is very close anyways. However if I make a mistake the whole batch can be out of focus which is not good unless that is a style you looking for😉

Pos-processing is quite simple. Crop it 1×1 if you like it squared and brush up exposure and brightness if needed.
That’s it. They are ready to be shared and people typically have lots of fun with it.

Big thanks to Scott Jarvie for discovering this so we can have fun with photography.

I would like to invite you also to check the Jarvie Window Experience on Scott’s  blog to take a look at all his work that is of very high artistic quality.

Thanks for visiting.

2 thoughts on “Jarvie Window (my) Experience

  1. Thanks Scott, Funny that you comment here. I thought of the lensbaby after I saw a couple of your photos posted on FB. Then I went to pictureline and tried it and it works as well for the purpose and then I bought one for me.

    As for the Flash adapter, do a search on ebay. I found one that was $50. I don’t have the link right now. I will search and send in a message for you.

Leave a Reply

